Butternut Squash Dahl

Ally’s chronological story:

Every year, I receive a copy of the BC Dairy Association…

I love it, it’s beautiful, it keeps me aware of the current date.

However, I don’t think I have ever made a recipe from it.

Found: BC Dairy Association

Makes 6 servings

Now here’s the thing. Every morning it stares down at me from above a computer. So finally, I planned on staring it right back.  Here was my timeline.

January 2013: calendar proudly replaces last year’s version on the bulletin board. I’m impressed with myself.

February 2013: I take a picture of the Honey-Garlic Chicken & Sweet Pepper Stir-Fry. Did I make the recipe? Of course not.

March 2013: I’m determined. Not only was the picture taken, but I also bought the groceries (big life step!). The results? See below!

FYI: since the lentils basically act as a thickening agent, a few days later this recipe was no longer sauce-like, but a very yummy thick stew. Two meals, one recipe? Win.

Ingredients: 

  • 1 cup dried red lentils
  • 1.5 cups low-sodium vegetable broth (or chicken broth)
  • 1 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp. minced ginger
  • 1-2 tsp. yellow curry powder (depending on how much of a kick you want. I did 2 tsp. and thought there easily could have been more)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 3-4 cups chopped and peeled butternut squash (~1-1.5 lbs. on the grocery store scale)
  • 1.5 cups low-fat milk

How-to: 

  1. Place lentils in a sieve, rinse well, and drain. Place in a bowl, add broth, and set aside.
  2. In a pot deep enough to hold a stew, add oil and onion. Saute for ~3 minutes until the onion softens. Add garlic, ginger, curry powder, salt, and pepper. Saute for another ~2 minutes until softened. Add lentils, broth, squash, and milk. Bring to a simmer, stirring often.
  3. Cover, leaving lid ajar, reduce heat, and simmer, stirring occasionally, for ~25 minutes or until squash and lentils are soft and tender.

*Note: if it’s too spicy, serve with low-fat yogurt.

Make it a meal: 

  • Whip up a side salad
  • You could serve this dahl with brown rice, quinoa, millet, flat bread, etc., but the squash itself acts as a starch. Really depends on the person.
Leave a Reply

